The Distortion of Sound

"The last two decades have seen a striking decline in the quality of sound and listening experience. Compressed music, MP3s and streaming, have diminished the quality and flattened the emotion. Marketing gimmicks and convenience now take the place of excellence. The Distortion of Sound is an eye-opening exposé of the current state of sound starring Linkin Park, Slash, Quincy Jones and more. This documentary will open your ears and inspire you to reach for richer, more soul-stirring musical experiences."

[dB2014 Exclusive Mix #3: ISIS GRAHAM]

0 Plays

Source: SoundCloud / DecibelFestival

[dB2014 Exclusive Mix #3]

We’re pleased to announce the third installment of our mix series by Girls On Decks founder Isis Graham.

Isis will be playing along side Pete Tong and Tensnake at the “All Gone” showcase on Sunday, September 28th.

Isis Graham’s first forays into Calgary’s dance music scene began in the late 90s. While the scene was witnessing an unprecedented growth surge, thanks to the hard and fast stadium raves of that era, a figure that would become a luminary of Calgary electronic music was establishing herself in its shadows.

At 17, Isis caught the attention of The Techno Collective – a group headed by the current owner of PK Sound, Arlen Cormack, and his brother Tyson. They helped lay the foundation getting Isis the headlining spots she needed to become truly established. By 2003 Canada was slowly shifting into its second golden age of House, and Isis brought her Chicago-influenced crates to some of the country’s key venues of that era. She hosted a resident night called Blush Saturdays alongside many of the worlds top house headliners, many of them coming to Calgary for the first time.

It was in 2003 that Isis was approached by MollyFi to help start the all girl DJ crew Girls on Decks. This move would become one of the defining moments of Isis’s career. Now in its tenth year, Girls on Decks continues to further the sense of solidarity among women in Canada’s dance music scene. The events, the roster and the website have also become an outlet to showcase emerging talent to a crowd of old and new music enthusiasts.

Isis Graham’s discography continues to grow each year. 2008′s collaboration with Neighbor, 2011’s releases on Tycho Recordings, her 2012 indie album, In the Garden, and the Thelma & Louise EP with Krystle Love B, which was released in 2013 and rose to #20 in the deep house charts in under one week. Her productions span a wide stylistic range, from House to UK bass. In 2014, she has a release schedule which will see her releasing music on Flavorite Music, Technofunk Records, Substation Recordings & Moonlight Records.

Isis is currently a resident DJ at Habitat Living Sound in Calgary, a partner in Substation Recordings and is still working hard for Girls on Decks for a big festival season. She has seen the evolution of Canada’s dance music scene over almost two decades and her longevity has filled her crate with the knowledge of multiple generations of House, in 2014, she’s poised to lead the charge into the next era.

For tickets:

and line-up info:


1 - Re:You -Anyway (Rampa Remix) - Mobilee
2 - MannMade Rhodes - Eviction - Substation Recordings
3 - Kris Schultz Feat Miss Fudge - Cast Away (Isis Graham Remix) - Third City Records
4 - Haakonsen - Over the Ear - Substation Recordings
5 - Raxon - Badcave - Noir Music
6 - Ejeca - Music Sounds Better with a 303 
7 - Nick Daring - In Da Stay - Highgrade Records
8 - Tom Ruijg - Session 1.2 - Soweso Records
9 - Aaron - What Makes You Itch - DFTD
10 - Isis Graham & Matt Caine - Plucked
11 - Breach - Artis - AUS
12 - Isis Graham - That Thang - Substation Recordings
13 - Dast - Trip Into Space - Liebe Detail
14 - Sergio Levels - Broken (DUB MIX) - Substation Recordings
15 - Matt Caine & Jon Delerious - Rubber Band
16 - Says Who? - Make Me - Blacksoul Music
17 - Cleavage & Lars Vegas - Grace -Toolroom

For tickets:

and line-up info:

Chilly Gonzales breaks down Daft Punk’s “Get Lucky” in this Pop Music Master Class

Pencil Icon

we are now at our best and so Death Grips is over. we have officially stopped. all currently scheduled live dates are canceled. our upcoming double album “the powers that b” will still be delivered worldwide later this year via Harvest/Third Worlds Records. Death Grips was and always has been a conceptual art exhibition anchored by sound and vision. above and beyond a “band”. to our truest fans, please stay legend.”

Read more:

Collections: Egon (Now-Again Records) - Boiler Room LA

Young Fathers: Come To Life

FKA twigs - Two Weeks

Zane Lowe meets…. Rick Rubin

J.J. Cale - Durango